Training during GWGF

For the first time, I made a commitment to get in 3 trainings sessions during GWGF, between Thursday and Monday.

 This was pretty impressive, since in the previous 6 years, I don’t think I did 1 training session total!

Even in the week leading up to GWGF (my most hectic time!) I ran 6 miles with Jeni on Saturday (we practiced towing) and then I did 10 miles Sunday, and a “quick” 5 on Monday, that almost killed me.

On Tuesday, most of the FARTS were in town, and we did one of our in-gym circuit workouts. We even had a couple of new folks (Dawn and Rachael) try it with us.

Wednesday was 18 hours of setup, but Thursday at 6:30 a.m., Rick and I got out for a brisk 3 miles or so along the dyke road and the boardwalk.

The rest of Thursday, Friday and Saturday were sort of busy with a few thousand of our closest friends, broken up with the surprise arrival of Andy on Friday! Yea!

We planned to run Sunday early, but a sudden TV interview at 7:15 made it a little early to be farting around, so, while Lisa and I slaved away at the meet, our so-called friends, ignoring our feelings, went out for a run, along with an Andy-led yoga class etc… I hear the Turbo-Durbo led the way! (Way to go, Kelley!) Basically, you all suck for leaving without us, but I’m proud of you!

So, keeping my sworn vow in mind, I was left with having to do 2 workouts on Monday, after a REALLY long weekend. To top it off, my long lasting cold was reappearing after 5 days of tough work with little reat, and I woke early to a bad cough, and a head full of snot. I dragged my carcass to the Advil container, and cursing the whole way, got dressed and woke Morgen’s sleeping ass up off our couch.

We started along Centennial trail, with the plan (at least in my head!) of doing maybe 5 to 5.5 miles, until I made the mistake of asking Morgen what he wanted to do, and the damned keener said “Oh, how about 60 minutes or so…” I almost asked him didn’t he have to be at work soon? but, being a stubborn competitive sort (who knew?) I trudged, in the full meaning of the word, out of the parking lot, past the disembowled dead deer, and toward the dreaded Bennett Bay hill, some 3 miles away.

We worked on keeping a good aerobic training pace, working on building the ever-important aerobic base, but the 9:04 rate was close to what I could handle for the first mile or so. Thank goodness I kind of loosened up, and as we progressed, I actually started to feel better. We made it to the top of the hill, and Morgen, in his infinite wisdom, said “Golly gee, Dave, I’ve never ran 8 miles…) and I, frantically trying to bite my tongue, said “sure, it’s only one more mile marker,” knowing full well that it was a compete mile downhill, meaning that we had a mile straight up to start the way back.

Actually, though, it went pretty well, and I was feeling pretty normal by the end. We finished in good style, closing in on 8:02ish for the last bit, and were still well within ourselves. Good job Schmorg! You did great!

After showering and packing out of the hotel, we picked the girls up from the Spa, and headed to Funtastics for the Long Circuit, which was workout #2 for me. This is a hard workout, but everyone did very well, and whining was kept to a minimum! 🙂

Tomorrow, we’re planning on a 7:00 a.m. jog as a group, before Rachal and Lisa have to be at the gym, and before Kelley has to head home. The great news is that Rick will be staying through the week, and Jeni will be out tomorrow night for another workout!

Bloomsday Weekend planning is starting to shape up, and the current thinking is that everyone arrives Friday sometime, and on Saturday, we will do a pretty full day of training, with bike, kayak and run (and Dave will have an orienteering course setup by then, hopefully!), and then Sunday, while (again hopefully!) still a bit tired, we will run Bloomsday, and then head out to Cheney for another Kayak and bike, as well as some ropes course work.

Jeni is planning on doing Grizzlyman in April, which, unfortunately, is the same weekend as Regionals, which we’re hosting… I don’t actually think we would be missed if we went to Missoula on Saturday, but I’ll have to check with Lisa…

Would love to look at when we can get down to Tahoe for 2 or 3 days… can everybody give us some posisble dates?

Also, I am pushing for a return trip to Hawaii in August, finances and schedule premitting, and would love to have some or all of you join us.

September 20 is only 208 days away…

 Go Farts!

Leave a comment

Filed under uncategorized

Leave a Reply

