A couple of weeks training, and winter’s arrival

Sorry it’s been so long since I posted… we’ve been busy getting Adventure Week 2009 going, and boy, has it been going!

Things are really underway, and we hope to have the online registration up within the next day or so, and the facilities are really shaping up.

We’ve had some great news with the addition of Ian Adamson to the list of stars who will be competing at Adventure Week 2009. Ian, while not exactly coming out of retirement, is quite excited about coming and “bouncing around in the wilderness” with us for a few days!”

We are now up to twenty races, with the addition of the Duathlon -the “Dual-X” – which will be held in conjunction with the XTERRA.

Training over the past couple of weeks has been trying, at best. I think I mentioned how I ran into a tree a couple of months ago, skewering myself right on the hip flexor? Well, three weeks ago, I went out for an 18 mile run, which actually went very well, except that my hip flexor was sore afterwards. On the Monday following, I did a 12 mile loop, and at the 10 mile mark, my leg fell off. My hip flexor seized up so bad I couldn’t run or lift my leg more than about 6 inches.

Surprisingly, it didn’t really hurt to walk, but I was forced to walk about a mile and a half before I could stagger in the last 1/2 mile. After that, it’s been touch and go. I’ve only been able to run a couple of times a week, and never pain free. Going up hill is the worst, which, where I live, makes it a bit difficult, since we live on the top of the hill.

Oh well… it seems to be getting slowly better, but I can’t do much more than 7 or 8 miles.

I was able to ride up until a week ago (December 13) when winter finally showed up for real… we had a good 10 or 12 inches that first weekend, and the temps dropped into the teens and even lower, bottoming out at zero. Not too bad, really, but this past Thursday, the main event happened! Since then we’ve received over four feet of snow. We had more than three feet in the first twenty four hours, which was a record.

The only good news was that it was so cold, the snow was pretty light, so shovelling wasn’t as bad as it could have been.

I did get in a couple of nice runs in the sunny, cold days, and it was really quite pretty with all the snow.

Shoveling is good hard work, as is chopping wood, so that’s been helping. I miss being on the bike, but hope to try some snow biking this week. I also dug out my old cross country skis, and while I may need some new boots (feet having grown) I’m looking forward to getting out at the park.

I don’t know if you saw it, but Vince from Aquan Sports has organized a really cool ocean kayaking trip to Baja, where you get basically everything included for $599 I believe… all you need is a carryon and a paddle, and they take care of the rest for five days! Wish I could make it! If you’re interested, please let Vince know.

We’re really starting to get fired up about next June, and will be looking for some help in the months leading up… please let Dave know if you want to be a part of this special event, and what you’re willing and able to do!

Thanks to all, and I wish you all blessings, peace, happiness and joy this holiday season.

Merry Christmas!

DA

Leave a comment

Filed under Adventure Week, communication, cycling, gear, Top Teams, training, XTERRA-Farragut

Leave a Reply

